The Des Plaines Arts Council was founded in 1987 to promote involvement and appreciation of the arts. It is a non-profit 501(C)(3) organization which operates as an umbrella group for many community arts organizations and events including the Summer Concert Series in Lake Park, the Community Mural Project, Lake/Winter Wonderland, Family Fest and The Des Plaines Chamber of Commerce After Hours program.

The Des Plaines Arts Council has made a special effort to encourage young people to pursue their creative talents by awarding scholarships. Each year the Council provides up to $6000 in scholarships to students from 4th grade through High School, and since 1987 has given over $60,000 in arts scholarships.

The Des Plaines Arts Council also publishes and distributes the Des Plaines Arts Calendar three times a year. This publication serves as an unique source of information for all arts events in the community including programs hosted by the City of Des Plaines, the Des Plaines Art Guild, the Des Plaines Camera Club, the Des Plaines Chamber of Commerce & Industry, the Des Plaines Park District, the Des Plaines Public Library, the Des Plaines Garden Club, the Des Plaines History Center, the Des Plaines Senior Center, the Fine Arts Departments of Maine East and Maine West, the Northwest Symphony Orchestra, Oakton Community College and many more arts providers and supporters.


Board of Directors

Jo Bonell

Jo Bonell is the Head of Adult Services at the Des Plaines Public Library. She is a former actor and writer and continues to pen incredibly bad musical parodies under the nom de plume Joyce Bonelli. Events at the library can always be found at

Donna Catlett

Donna has been a member of the board since 1998.  She has served as president and is currently treasurer.   Her background is in theatre and she holds a degree in acting and directing.  She believes strongly in the arts as an economic development tool, making the community a vibrant place to live and do business.

Anne Evans

Bio coming soon!

Don Gloor

Don has been a member of the Arts Council board since it’s beginnings in 1988. He has served as Co-President, Vice President and in many other positions. He is passionate about the arts in the community, currently serves as Senior Center representative and is the Council’s most active cheerleader!

Patti Interrante

Patti Interrante is a Professor of Speech/Theater at Oakton Community College. In addition to teaching, she also directs plays and hosts performance workshops at the College and is the coordinator of Oakton’s PlayON Playwriting Festival that is produced every summer. She has served on the Des Plaines Arts Council for five years.

Linda Traina

Linda Traina is a graduate of U of I at Urbana/Champaign who is retired Superintendent of Recreation at the Des Plaines Park District. Linda has been an active member of the Des Plaines Arts Council since 2002 and President 2007 to 2016.  Although Linda is not an artist, she has a great appreciation and love for all elements of the arts.

Saran Larson

Bio coming soon!

Diane Macewicz

Diane Macewicz, a retired teacher, is a violinist in the Northwest Symphony, and as the Administrative Director, she manages the ongoing operations of the orchestra. She has served as secretary and President of the NSO board. She was named Board President of the ICO in 2007.

Nancy Moran

Bio coming soon!

Rhonda Popko

Rhonda Popko has been an artist, art teacher and instigator of public art projects in Des Plaines and other cities for over 30 years. She is the recipient of the Illinois Humanities Council’s Studs Terkel Award for her commitment to the support of community arts programs. In addition to serving on the Board of the Arts Council, she is the President of the Des Plaines Art Guild.

Christine Posinger

In my work at the Des Plaines Public Library I participate in collection development and plan programs for adults, including cultural, arts and film programs. As the Programming Librarian, I seek to establish relationships with other cultural organizations in the community.

Will Soderberg, President

Will has been a member of the board since 2014 as a liaison for the City of Des Plaines, where he works as a Media Specialist. He obtained his MFA in 2013 from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago.