The Des Plaines Arts Council Board has made the difficult decision to ‘pause’ the Youth Scholarship Program for 2021. We will not be taking applications for Youth Scholarships in 2021. This is due to uncertainties related to the pandemic. We are looking forward to re-opening the program for 2022.

For further information contact Linda Traina

email: – phone (847) 341-4146

Thank you for your interest!

About the Des Plaines Arts Council Youth Scholarship Program

The Arts Council awards scholarships in two categories. Students currently in grades 4 through 8 are eligible for a maximum of $500, while students in grades 9 through 12 are eligible for a maximum of $1000.

Since 1998 the Des Plaines Arts Council has awarded more than $60,000 in scholarships to eligible youth. These scholarships are to be used to pursue advanced study in the fine, performing, digital media or literary arts.  Eligible programs include, but are not limited to, private lessons or classes and summer music, speech, drama and visual art camps.  For high school seniors scholarships can be applied towards freshman college or specialty school tuition for any artistic major. Applicants must have a Des Plaines mailing address.


2020 Scholarship Recipients

4th-8th Grades

Thalia Estrada (Algonquin Middle School)

Karissa Feldser (Algonquin Middle School)

Jenifer Garcia (Terrace Elementary)

Antonia Gomez (Chippewa Middle School)

Tristan Okurowski (Central Elementary)

Marjorie Padar (Iroquois Community School)

Isabella Reynoso (Cumberland Elementary)

Adelaide Webb (Iroquois Community School)


High School

David Adam (Northridge Preparatory School)

Danielle De La Rosa (Maine West High School)

Xiao Lin He (Maine West High School)

Gabriela Krueger (Maine West High School)

Aurelia Lawson (Maine West High School)

Jordin Suwalski (Maine West High School)


(2020 forms archive)

Scholarship Application Form for 4th Grade to 8th Grade Students

Teacher Recommendation Form

Scholarship Application Form for 9th to 12th Grade Students


Des Plaines Arts Council Youth Scholarship recipients were recognized at the June 3, 2019 Des Plaines City Council Meeting